Last Updated on August 5, 2020

The 2020 college football schedule is still up in the air for the most part, but the power five conferences are still pushing forward with the fall season. On Wednesday morning, the Big Ten released its 10-game regular-season schedule for 2020. The season starts the first week of September and goes through the first week of December.

The 2020 Big Ten season will kick off on Sept. 3 with the Ohio State Buckeyes and Illinois Fighting Illini. Wisconsin and Indiana (Wisconsin is a 14 point favorite) will play the following night and the rest of the Big Ten teams will take the field on Saturday, Sept. 5.

Each team in the conference has two bye weeks and there is an open week prior to the Big Ten Football Championship. The bye weeks are all split up between teams during Weeks 5, 6, 10, and 11. This gives the conference some latitude to work with should they have to move games around due to coronavirus.


What This Means For The Big Ten

The power five conferences are forging ahead with the 2020 season no matter what. Each league is making adjustments given these unprecedented times. The Big Ten is choosing to go with a conference-only slate of games that will limit travel and as a result, limit the risk of an outbreak.

However, the Big Ten is a sprawling conference with teams all over the country. Even with the conference-only schedule, the potential for an outbreak is still there.

Recently, in a statement, the Big Ten announced that if the league “is able to participate in fall sports (men’s and women’s cross country, field hockey, football, men’s and women’s soccer, and women’s volleyball) based on medical advice, it will move to Conference-only schedules in those sports.”

The Big Ten should be preparing for the worst, but hoping for the best. At this point, that’s all they can do. Putting in multiple bye weeks and an open week should help the conference adapt to any potential problems.


[metabet_core_odds_board league=”ncaaf” site_id=”actionrush” style=”vegas”]