Last Updated on June 29, 2020

Who’s ready for the all-out sprint of a 60-game MLB season? Ready or not, here they come. Baseball is coming back in July and bettors can now turn to MLB futures. BetMGM’s National League Rookie of the Year betting odds points to two strong favorites.

With that said, there is so much uncertainty in a shortened season and it’s almost impossible to predict how rookies will react to extended time in the big leagues.

Here are BetMGM’s opening lines for the 2020 N.L. Rookie of the Year.


Odds To Win N.L. Rookie of the Year 2020

Gavin Lux +250
Daulton Varsho +300
Mitch Keller +700
Carter Kieboom +900
Dylan Carlson +1000
Dustin May +1100
MacKenzie Gore +1200
Brendan Rogers +1600
Nico Hoerner +1800
Christian Pache +2000
Joey Bart +2000



Gavin Lux and Daulton Varsho stand above the crowd here, and for good reason. Lux is a highly-touted second baseman for the Dodgers with a sweet lefty stroke. With stars like Mookie Betts, Max Muncy, and Bellinger in the lineup, Lux will have ample protection and should see plenty of pitches to hit.

Varsho is a top-ranked prospect in the Arizona Diamondbacks’ system and he is going to be the team’s long-term option at catcher. Arizona has toyed with moving Varsho to the outfield or even third base, but he’s played the vast majority of his games behind the plate.

But Varsho’s real value is stored in his bat. He mashed 18 home runs and drove in 54 RBIs in double-A Jackson last year. The power is there.

Recent winners of the N.L. Rookie of the Year have gone on to become superstars and this year may be no different with Lux and Varsho emerging as the MLB betting heavy favorites. One of the two could follow in a long line of superstars to take home the award.


Previous N.L. Rookie of the Year Winners

2019 — Pete Alonso — New York Mets
2018 — Ronald Acuna Jr. — Atlanta Braves
2017 — Cody Bellinger — Los Angeles Dodgers
2016 — Corey Seager — Los Angeles Dodgers
2015 — Kris Bryant — Chicago Cubs
2014 — Jacob deGrom — New York Mets
2013 — Jose Fernandez — Miami Marlins
2012 — Bryce Harper — Washington Nationals