MLB World Series Odds 2022

Amidst the 2022 MLB lockout, some futures markets are still able to be wagered on. One of the oldest sports when it comes to betting is baseball, as there have been wagers taken on America’s pastime for over a century.

The most popular futures bet when it comes to MLB and baseball betting is who will win the World Series. All 30 teams receive bets throughout the season, but that changes as the odds drastically moved based on which teams the bettors believe will have the most successful campaigns, how standings fall, and playoff series’ go.

Let’s take a look at the current World Series odds for 2022, odds movement, betting history and more World Series facts.


2022 World Series Odds Timeline

A look at how the World Series odds have moved throughout the 2022 season.

  • February 2022 – Amidst the lockout, the Dodgers are favored at +700, as they opened.
  • January 2022 – Dodgers open as World Series favorites.


Odds To Win 2022 World Series

A look at the updated 2022 World Series odds with the best prices from various legal sportsbooks.

[metabet_core_futures_board league=”mlb” site_id=”actionrush” style=”classic” hide_consensus=”yes” hide_location=”yes”]


World Series Betting History

Let’s take a look at the World Series betting history.

Top 5 World Series Upsets

A recap of five of the biggest upsets in World Series history.

2003 – Marlins Defeat Mighty Yankees

The (then Florida) Marlins had just a $54M payroll compared to the Yankees’ $164M payroll, which makes this a massive upset in every sense of the word. The storyline of the Marlins’ season was incredible, as they hired Jack McKeon in the middle of the season as manager, and went on an incredible run behind the arm of Josh Beckett and leadership of Ivan “Pudge” Rodriguez.

1969 – Miracle Mets of 1969

The title “Miracle Mets” should explain everything. The Mets defeated the Baltimore Orioles who had won 109 games. The Mets certainly had a great pitching staff led by Tom Seaver and Nolan Ryan, but in 1969 there was no way the Baltimore Orioles were losing to the Mets.

1988 – “I Don’t Believe What I Just Saw”

Kirk Gibson’s heroics changed Dodgers history forever, but that was just one fact of that World Series. The Athletics had a near-perfect baseball club, and the Dodgers just somehow scraped together wins throughout the playoffs. The real story was Orel Hershiser’s incredible run in the postseason that led the Dodgers to a World Series victory.

1990 – Reds Take Down the Favored Athletics

Ever heard of Billy Hatcher? He hit .750 in the 1990 World Series and Jose Rijo allowed just one earned run in over 15 innings of work to defeat the Athletics, who were filled with talent from top to bottom. Not only was it an upset, the Reds swept the A’s in four games.

1960 – The Shot Heard ‘Round the World

Bill Mazeroski hit a walk-off home run in Game 7 of the World Series. The moment does not get any better, and it was a massive upset for the Pirates over the historic Yankees. In a seven-game series, the Yankees scored 28 more runs than the Pirates, but the last four were the only ones that mattered as the Yankees dropped Game 7 to the Pirates in a massive upset.


World Series Champions By Year

A look at each World Series champion in the last 20+ years.

Year World Series Champion Runner Up
2021 Atlanta Braves Houston Astros
2020 Los Angeles Dodgers Tampa Bay Rays
2019 Washington Nationals Houston Astros
2018 Boston Red Sox Los Angeles Dodgers
2017 Houston Astros Los Angeles Dodgers
2016 Chicago Cubs Cleveland Indians
2015 Kansas City Royals New York Mets
2014 San Francisco Giants Kansas City Royals
2013 Boston Red Sox St. Louis Cardinals
2012 San Francisco Giants Detroit Tigers
2011 St. Louis Cardinals Texas Rangers
2010 San Francisco Giants Texas Rangers
2009 New York Yankees Philadelphia Phillies
2008 Philadelphia Phillies Tampa Bay Rays
2007 Boston Red Sox Colorado Rockies
2006 St. Louis Cardinals Detroit Tigers
2005 Chicago White Sox Houston Astros
2004 Boston Red Sox St. Louis Cardinals
2003 Florida Marlins New York Yankees
2002 Anaheim Angels San Francisco Giants
2001 Arizona Diamondbacks New York Yankees
2000 New York Yankees New York Mets


World Series MVP By Year

A look at each World Series MVP for the last 20+ years.

Year World Series Champion World Series MVP
2021 Atlanta Braves Jorge Soler
2020 Los Angeles Dodgers Corey Seager
2019 Washington Nationals Stephen Strasburg
2018 Boston Red Sox Steve Pearce
2017 Houston Astros George Springer
2016 Chicago Cubs Ben Zobrist
2015 Kansas City Royals Salvador Perez
2014 San Francisco Giants Madison Bumgarner
2013 Boston Red Sox David Ortiz
2012 San Francisco Giants Pablo Sandoval
2011 St. Louis Cardinals David Freese
2010 San Francisco Giants Edgar Renteria
2009 New York Yankees Hideki Matsui
2008 Philadelphia Phillies Cole Hamels
2007 Boston Red Sox Mike Lowell
2006 St. Louis Cardinals David Eckstein
2005 Chicago White Sox Jermaine Dye
2004 Boston Red Sox Manny Ramirez
2003 Florida Marlins Josh Beckett
2002 Anaheim Angels Troy Glaus
2001 Arizona Diamondbacks Curt Schilling/Randy Johnson
2000 New York Yankees Derek Jeter


All Time World Series Stats

A look at some World Series stats and records over the years.

Most Home Runs in a Single World Series

A list of the players with the most home runs in one World Series.

World Series Year Player Home Runs
2017 George Springer 5
2009 Chase Utley 5
1977 Reggie Jackson 5


Most Home Runs in a World Series Career

A list of the players with the most career home runs in the World Series.

Player Career World Series Home Runs
Mickey Mantle 18
Babe Ruth 15
Yogi Berra 12
Duke Snider 11
Lou Gehrig 10
Reggie Jackson 10


Most Strikeouts in a Single World Series

A list of the players with the most strikeouts in one World Series.

World Series Year Player Career World Series Strikeouts
1968 Bob Gibson 35
1964 Bob Gibson 31
1965 Sandy Koufax 29
1903 Bill Dinneen 28
1967 Bob Gibson 26
2001 Curt Schilling 26


2022 World Series Odds Frequently Asked Questions

When will the 2022 World Series be?

The 2022 World Series will be played at the conclusion of the 2022 MLB season.

Where is the World Series played?

The World Series is played in each of the two home ballparks of the two teams in the series.

Who is home in the World Series?

Traditionally, the home team in the World Series was decided by the winner of the All Star game. Now, it is decided by the record of the two teams in the World Series.

How many games are in the World Series?

The World Series is the best of a seven-game series. This means that whoever wins four games first, wins the World Series. It can be from four to seven games long.